My Heart Goes Out to Oden

When I heard that Greg Oden was going to be out for yet another season, my first reaction was disappointment. But not just disappointment for my team who is desperate need for their big man back, or disappointment for the fact that our number one overall pick is still not able to play, no, I felt disappointment for Greg himself.

There have been numerous reports of how hard this player has worked to get back into playing health and shape. He has been training for years now with no real benefit due to his injuries. To work hard for something and not be able to see the payment has got to be extremely hard. But not even that is why I feel for this guy.

Greg Oden has expressed multiple times that he feels the weight of the first pick on his shoulders. He feels responsible to the city and the fans to play well and live up to that draft pick status that he was given. The sad thing is, is that his body is not even giving him the chance to prove he his worth it.

 Everyone keeps saying the word bust in reference to Greg, but I do not think that is fair at all. Scott Van Pelt is right when he says that word is rightfully given to guys who just aren’t very good, who just don’t work hard, or who fail drug tests, not for guys who work their butts off and never get the chance to show what they can do. 

So Greg Oden, my heart goes out to you. Keep working hard, get healthy, and I hope you get your chance.

About hargy13

I'm a sports guy. I live it, breathe it and play as many as possible as much possible. From rat ball at the Y to hardcore Rugby watch out I play to win.
This entry was posted in NBA. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to My Heart Goes Out to Oden

  1. Chris Ross says:

    Nice article, really enjoyed the read. I think that people are being way too harsh on the Greg Oden pick for the Blazers. I don’t feel that the Blazers made the wrong decision despite the constant injuries and unrealized potential of Greg Oden. It is going to be tough for him to come back and he may never be in a Blazers jersey again. You can’t help but feel bad for the guy as well as the Blazers, so hopefully he can come back and have at least a somewhat productive NBA career. Also, you think you could check out my blog cuz I really wanna hear what you think. http://chrisross91.wordpress.com/2010/11/19/greg-oden-was-the-right-pick/

Leave a comment